Posted by: Chi Anh | May 17, 2010

Weeknight Leftover Dinners: Salmon & Asparagus Pesto Pasta with French Omelette

It’s Monday. I hardly feel recovered from the weekend, and again came Monday that was so hectic, I didn’t even have time to feel Monday blues. I came home with a splitting headache, and longed for my comfy King sized bed, watching my favorite TV recordings (Nigella Express and Oliver’s Twist back to back would be a good option). Good thing I’m not far from this ideal setting. My dinner was already in the fridge, which is Saturday’s lunch party leftovers (minus the yogurt sauce – which should be consumed within the same day!).

When I took it out of the fridge, the pasta was dry and hard, and the pesto has reduced to dry lumps sticking to parts of the pasta. Totally unappetizing and I couldn’t imagine just dumping that thing into the microwave to reheat like what most of us do with leftovers. So I did a little revamp to the leftovers and here is what I ended up with 10 minutes later:

All I did was, making a French Rolled Omelette (which takes at most 3 minutes to make), then with the pan still glistening in butter, I tossed in the cold Pasta and salmon. I let the Salmon sear again on both sides, while tossing the pasta inside the pan with a drizzle of olive oil and a splash of water to smoothen the pesto again. Within a few minutes, the asparagus pesto had distributed itself nicely, coating the pasta again. A pinch of salt for final seasoning, and voila, I had a full meal within minutes, without having to step out of my door.

You may not be able to cook a fancy meal everyday, but nothing stops you from enjoying the same fancy meal twice 🙂 Esp if it means less dishes and I get to throw myself into bed sooner. Just don’t settle for lazy leftover food, but spend that little bit of effort and extra minutes to give your left overs a facelift, lending it a new flavour or simple side like this omelette.


Leave a comment

Categories